And the winners are....

Posted on Wednesday 22nd November 2017

Outstanding Contribution to the Community Awards…achievements of  Tower Hamlets Homes residents are recognised

Last night (Wed 21 November) Tower Hamlets Homes (THH) hosted their Outstanding Contribution to the Community Awards (OSCCAs). The ceremony recognised the dedication of THH residents who have been tireless volunteers in helping their community throughout the year. A big well done to everyone who was nominated and especially the winners.


The ceremony was hosted by Alim Kamara, from the company Storie Storie, providing an engaging mix of amusing and motivational stories throughout the evening.  Awards were presented by the Chair of  the THH board, Ann Lucas and the Mayor of Tower Hamlets, John Biggs.OSCCAs crowd


Janet Burns was one of the winners, picking up the Community Champion award for her work transforming the community centre and food garden at Cranbrook into a thriving and bustling hub for residents.  She said:


“I came to live on the estate in 2009 and they wanted someone to run the centre.  I didn’t want to see it sitting empty, so I took it over. Lots of groups use the space now and everyone says hello to me and say that they have never seen the community centre so busy, it’s nice to hear that.”


Councillor Sirajul Islam, (Tower Hamlets Council’s Cabinet Member for Housing) said:

 “Congratulations to all the winners and nominees at the first Tower Hamlets Homes OSCCAs.  It was a wonderful event, well organised and lots of fun and celebration for all those who attended.”

The ceremony was also an excuse for everyone to dress up and look brilliant. Who needs an Oscar when you can win an OSCCA!  If you were nominated and didn’t win keep up the good work, there is always next year. Who knows the residents hero next year could be you!


The full list of categories and winners are:


Community Champion (Adult)

Janet Burns

Youth Champion (Young person under 25)

Muhammad Yahya

Sharmina Aktar

Sumaiya Kalam

Environmental Award

Margaret Wilson

Bringing people together Award

Teesdale and Hollybush TRA

Community Initiative Award

Newark Youth (Manik Miah)

Community Safety Award

Spencer Brown

Resident involvement Award

Derrick Cutler

Good neighbour Award

Catherine Tyrrell

THH Chairs’ Award

Margaret Cox



Posted on Wednesday 22nd November 2017